Skip to content

Party Like It’s 2010

December 30, 2009

I have a busy schedule for New Year’s Eve.  The 31st happens to be my dad’s birthday, so we are going to see Sherlock Holmes (and I can’t wait!!), and then after Nic and I are going out to dinner with friends.  Even though I’m not doing anything that requires festive and glamourous attire this year, I thought I’d give you some inspiration for your big night out.

photo courtesy of dress, design, decor

Dramatic makeup is perfect for New Year’s.  I don’t care what anyone says about glitter–I love it! But I think it’s only appropriate for certain occasions, and the end of a great year is a good one. I also think a cheery red lip would look a-mazing if you keep the rest of your makeup simple and refined.

All black is over done.  All white looks fresh and fun and is the perfect way to represent a brand new year and stand out from every other girl at the party.  I think Blake Lively does the look nicely here.  The key is different textures.  She does a ruffly, flowing shirt with sleek, almost iridescent, trousers.  I would do some more layers to add some dimension.

All White New Year's
A smooth and silky blouse plays nicely off a bow-detailed mini composed of matte sequins.  A structured boyfriend blazer adds just the right touch of sophistication, and it’s satiny texture works well with metallic accents on the embellished heelsstatement necklace, and clutch.
While you’re getting ready, check out this mash-up of 2009’s Top 25 Billboard Hits.  It’s sure to get you in the party mood, or at least allow you to reminisce on how much you really love The Climb (or is that just me?):

Still need some ideas on how to have a great New Year’s? Check out Glamour‘s 13 Ways to Guarantee a Great New Year’s Eve.  I love their recommendation to bring an emergency kit–I always end up needing bobby pins, but never remember to bring them along.  Have a great New Year’s Eve, hopefully you have time to squeeze in a little bit of everything you’re resolving not to do in 2010.
No comments yet

Leave A Reply

