Skip to content

On The Big Screen: Style Inspired By Films

January 14, 2010

I watch so many movies it’s ridiculous.  That being said, I sometimes get so caught up in the plot that I don’t pay attention to the clothing. There are some movies, however,  that you really can’t avoid being inspired by.  Here are a couple of my favorite night-alone-with-a-tub-of-ice-cream, style inspiring movies (although they are just as good with company–good luck convincing your boyfriend!).

The Royal Tenenbaums

All of Mr. Anderson’s movies are inspirational.  The general aesthetics of his films are brilliant (I mean, The Darjeeling Limited made me want to wear bright, colorful things and I’m much more of a neutrals kinda girl), not to mention the soundtracks. I could have made an entire post about the ways in which Wes Anderson has inspired me, but The Royal Tenenbaums is one of my top two favorites of his films and Margot Tenenbaum broke the tie.  There is no one else in the world who I can see smoking and think: “that looks cool”. (Notice I said “think”. It’s still gross)

Margot Tenenbaum smoking

Photo Credit

The luxurious fur coat, that dainty little clip holding back her hair, those striped polos, raccoon eyes, disgruntled looks.  What’s not to be inspired by?I think the best characters are the ones you can imagine outside of a film, living beyond the scope of the movie–and I imagine Margot all the time, sitting at a window seat, smoking, flipping through the pages of some book that bores her, ignoring her husband as he yells from the stairs.  You get a clear vision of what Margot’s style is like from the movie, and I like that.

Margot Tenenbaum striped shirt

Get The Look

Margot Tenenbaum Style Board

So I decided to update the looks a little bit, but I can still imagine Margot (btw, have you read about the real Margot Tenenbaum?)traipsing about with these items on.

Outfit #1 is completely unrealistic attire for everyday everyone, except Margot of course.  A silky slip dress (not lingerie-inspired: actually lingerie) under an animal print coat is the perfect mix of wacky and sexy.  I went with an animal print rather than Margot’s usual because the leopard print coat is having a moment (or was, it might be gone already). Add menswear inspired loafers for an “oh, I just slipped this on” vibe, and don’t forget some hair pins.

Outfit #2 is more wearable.  A slinky striped mini dress paired with booties is oh so simple.  To make sure to get the right amount of raccoon eye going, you’ll need more than the average liner pencil.

Some Like It Hot

Some Like It Hot PosterPhoto Credit

Some Like It Hot is one of my favorite movies of all time and it also happens to provide lots of bombshell-girl style inspiration. I love a glamourous look, especially if it’s on the right person (and can it really get more right than Marilyn Monroe?).  One of my favorite scenes? The beach: I love Sugar’s (Marilyn) bathing suit with the wrap-top robe over it! And you hardly ever see Ms. Monroe looking so natural (sorry for the low quality video).

Marilyn Some Like It Hot

I also love her slinky dresses.  I honestly think anyone can pull off a slim fitting dress, especially curvy girls.  Hiding your body in bulky clothes only makes you look bigger.

Get The Look

Some Like It Hot StyleI modernized these outfits a little bit, but kept with the same sexy-glam theme.

Outfit #1 is a sexy, vintage inspired night out look.  A body skimming black dress takes on a more classic look with a long strand of pearls.  I chose a long sleeved mini dress. If you showcase one body part, in this case legs, always keep other parts covered– this keeps the outfit balanced.  A pop of color with bright red heels adds a vixen vibe.  You could emulate Marilyn’s retro hair style, but to keep the outfit up to date, I would go with a sleek, but volumized look, or a classic up ‘do.

Outfit #2 is beach chic.  I replaced a cropped robe with a loose beach shirt, which still gives the same look.  An old Hollywood inspired bathing suit is updated with trendy shades and a woven beach tote.  I love the juxtaposition of these two looks: sexy v. ultra casual, but both work with the bombshell-esque attire from the movie.

What Do You Think?

Have you seen these movies? Would you wear any of these outfits? What movies inspire your style? I’d love to hear from you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hillary permalink
    January 15, 2010 12:38 pm

    i love wes anderson.
    have you seen fantastic mr. fox? it’s great.

Leave A Reply

