Skip to content

Bulletin Board: Rockabilly

February 7, 2010

I’ve been loving a retro-glam look lately, and I’ve always been a sucker for a bouffant. I think my love of rockabilly might have something to do with the babysitter I had growing up. She used to put on Elvis Presley (who she referred to as her ‘husband’— Am I the only one who knows elderly people who do this?)records and we would dance around her basement to Hound Dog.

Bulletin Board Rockabilly

Clockwise from upper left: Rockabilly boyfriend jeans via Teen Vogue, Retro photo via Flickr, UO Neon Oxfords, Glam couple, Katy Perry, Bouffant, Rockabilly Prom via Teen Vogue, Red sunglasses

Get The Look

Rockabilly Outfits

Outfit #1 is my modernized 50s look. I updated classic Keds and cat-eye readers with boyfriend jeans and a graphic plaid shirt. I think a great pair of nude or navy pumps would look amazing with this as well.

For Outfit #2, I wanted to highlight the sexy-glam element of the Rockabilly scene. I am extremely curious about bodysuits. I’ve never worn one, but a lot of people seem to love them, and I like how they accent curves. I paired the body suit with a more conservative looking A-line skirt and leopard print bag. Basic t-strap shoes get a second look with studded details and a floral headband adds a playful touch.

What Do You Think?

Are you a rockabilly junky? Do you sport a bouffant regularly? Can you give me more info about bodysuits? I’d love to hear from you!


One Comment leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 4:02 pm

    Loving those pic’s

Leave A Reply

