Skip to content

Butterfly in the sky, I can go twice as high

May 29, 2010

Photo Credit

Take a look, it’s in a book. A reading rainbow (reading rainbow!) Do you guys remember that? I loved reading as a kid (which is probably why I liked the show in the first place), and I still love to read although I’ve moved on from Laura Ingalls Wilder and Nancy Drew. I have a huuuuge reading list for this summer, and I’m so excited to start. Check out my list:

* D.V. by Diana Vreeland – Honestly I can’t believe I haven’t read this by now.

* I’m Down: A Memoir by Mishna Wolff

* Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver….if you haven’t read The Poisonwood Bible you need to do so ASAP!!! It’s one of my favorite books of all time.

* One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Okay, I have tried to read this book literally 20 times, but never finish it. But that    happens to me all the time, usually I end up loving the book when I finally sit down and read the whole thing, so hopefully that is the case here.

* Last Night in Twisted River by John Irving – I love him, so I’m sure I’ll love this.

* I Will Teach You To Be Rich by Ramit Sethi – Okay, I am a Finance major…I like books about personal finance. If you are looking for a good one try anything by Dave Ramsey. If you are not interested in business or finance or books about being successful or books about economic philosophy, just go ahead and skip the next three.

* Linchpin: Are You Indispensible? by Seth Godin – Dave Ramsey and Danielle Laporte, of White Hot Truth, recommend this book, so that makes it a must-read for me.

* The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey – Lot of people have recommended this to me, including a designer who spoke in one of my Textiles classes, so I’m really interested to see what it’s all about.

* Capitalism and Freedom by Milton Friedman

* The Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan – I realize this is a children’s (or young adult) series, but so is Harry Potter and Harry Potter kicks ass. One of my cousins recommended the series, and I’m a bit of a mythology nerd, so I can’t wait to read it. Plus, it should only take me a couple days to read.

* If You Have to Cry, Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You by Kelly Cutrone – Umm, it’s written by Kelly Cutrone, enough said.

* The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri – I started this book at the beginning of spring quarter, but I just haven’t had time to finish it on top of all my assigned reading.

What, you say a huge list of titles (half of them about boring things like finance) isn’t enough to get you pumped for summer reading? Cue beautiful people with books:

james dean book

Photo Credit

Don’t those pictures make you want to pick up a book? Especially the one of Ms. Monroe…I want to lay on a bench and read in a glamourous bikini top! If you are the kind of person who actually read this far into the post, and you’re curious about what other people (besides me) are reading, you should check out CoverSpy. They record what books they see people reading on the subway, in bars, or wherever and then give interesting little tid-bits about the person reading it. For example, yesterday a 20 year old female with a jean jacket, black tights, red toenails, and star tats on her left foot was reading Thunderstruck by Erik Larson on the Q Train. I am super nosy so I find this kind of stuff fascinating.

What is on your reading list this summer? Have any suggestions for me to add to my list? Or, more importantly, how much did you love Reading Rainbow as a kid? I’d love to hear from you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. The Destructionist permalink
    May 29, 2010 7:10 pm

    THE EVOLUTION OF CAPITALISM

    Capitalism was founded upon basic principles: production, supply and demand, and capital accumulation. It is a social theory whereby prices are determined by profit and loss, as well as market interest and fluctuations.

    Although I understand the need for a free market enterprise, such a theory should not imply that we are willing to disregard our environment, or sacrifice the needs and comforts of our humanity in an attempt to realize higher profits (a.k.a., BP, Lehman Brothers, Goldman Sachs, etc).

    Capitalism may be wonderful, but like anything else, it is still a flawed system. It’s a work in progress. It needs to be tweaked here and there in order to perfect its balance and to soothe the inordinate swings that occur day-to-day in our financial markets. If left unchecked, however, such a system will prove to be our economic downfall.

    How so?

    Well, for one thing, there is only so much profit a business can make from a product before it is left to cut costs in both quality and workmanship. In order to continually sustain a profit, businesses have to create those same products with lower quality ingredients and cheaper labor: which means that they must pull up stakes and move to other countries like China, Taiwan, or Mexico in order to survive. What does this eventually mean for people like you and me? It means that the very financial theory that promoted our country to super power status has turned on us. It means that the American workforce is now expected to work harder, longer, cheaper, and faster if we are to compete with the global economy now breathing down our necks.

    Where do we go from here?

    George Orwell had it right, to some extent, when he wrote his book1984. Many years from now, money will become worthless and the global populace will be employed and subject to hundreds (if not thousands) of individualized corporations that managed to survive attrition through merger aquisitions. It will be a feudalistic society: every corporation out for blood and vying for global dominance and absolute power. Our children and grandchildren will be there too: housed, clothed and fed by these various corporate entities; all the while being sent out on occasion, like brainless automatons, to errands of war, in an effort to absorb the weakest corporations into the fold. After all the dust settles, and everything is said and done, the remaining corporations will finally merge into a one-world government.

    Science fiction, you say?

    (…I’m left wondering.)

  2. August 24, 2010 11:15 am

    Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your Thank you For Best Content

    Books Rick Riordan Store

Trackbacks

  1. Can’t live with it… « Powered By Fairy Dust

Leave A Reply

