Skip to content

Wardrobe Makeover: Part 2 – The Color Palette

June 25, 2010

For me, having a color palette for my wardrobe sounded kind of restricting, but after taking a quick peek in my closet I realized I already kinda’ had a color scheme going on. I got the idea for a color palette from What I Wore: Jessica suggested sticking to a few colors to build up your wardrobe essentials, and then slowly adding in accent colors (I can’t seem to find the article on her site now, so if anyone has a link, please share). After looking through my closet, I noticed definite trending towards red, navy, black, and grey:

wardrobe color palette

I wanted to go for the preppy eclectic look that I discussed in the last post, so I chose classic colors that can be mixed and matched for a little twist. I then decided that my first few accent colors would be:

wardrobe accent colors

I picked a dark purple and yellow because I already have a few pieces of each color in my closet, and they also each work well with the original palette (with the exception of yellow and black—I can’t stand that combination).

Do you guys stick to certain colors in your wardrobe or do you buy whatever catches your eye? What about flattering colors for your skin tone/hair color? I’m not really an expert on that, although I try to avoid pastels because they wash me out. I’d love to hear what your wardrobe color palette is!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 3:19 pm

    I tend to only wear:
    Yellow
    Navy
    Grey
    Black
    I also do not like to mix my yellow and black. I feel like a big fat bumblebee! :-)

Leave A Reply

