Skip to content

Under $50: Animal Jewelry

July 21, 2010

As you already know (from this week’s Look What I Found)I was crazy-in-love with Julia Roitfeld’s home on The Selby. What I loved the most was the photos of her jewelry collection. Most of the pieces were animal inspired (and also utterly un-attainable), and I found myself looking around for similar pieces to add to my own collection.

I think putting a wild animal on your wrist (or around your neck, or on your ears…) feels exotic and regal, I mean, did you see that tiger bangle (or those talons?). So, I figured I’d let everyone get a little taste of the wild side by creating a little roundup of my favorite animal jewelry under $50. Check it out and drrrooooool:

Under $50 Animal Jewlery Silver

1. Silver claw pendant $51…..so I know it’s bad to start off an Under $50 post with something over $50, but in my defense: this is awesome. AND…it’s only a dollar over. AND…if I must mention it again, talons.

2. Studded owls earrings $23

3. Circus animal necklace $49 – This would add a whimsical touch to an otherwise minimal ensemble. I would wear it with an oversized black tee and neutral paper-bag top shorts.

4. Coiled snake drop earrings $5.05 – These are super cheap, and they are the laid-back sisters of these, which is what this is all about.

5. Wolf ring $20 – So ferocious. Which reminds me—-have you guys heard about The Girl With The Red Riding Hood? Amanda Seyfried is set to play Red….it’s supposed to be a darker, goth version of everyone’s favorite fairy tale. I can’t wait!

Under $50 Animal Jewelry Gold

6. Lion ring $30

7. Gerry giraffe pendant necklace $12 – I love the contrast of the black and gold, and the fact that the giraffe is in motion- much more interesting that a stiff giraffe in my opinion.

8. Snake bangle bracelet $23 – Love this! Has a super dark feel to it. Just what you need to toughen up a girly outfit.

9. Plated knight ring $19 – This is from the Disney Couture collection, which has some great pieces. This one has more of a regal feel that the other items I’ve featured, if not because it is a horse, definitely because it is a chess piece.

10. Glitzy owl ring $6 – I can’t give up on owls. I love the symbolism.

Under $50 Animal Jewelry tiger bangle

11. Rhinestone tiger bangle $44 – Umm…..okay, here’s the thing: I’m completely obsessed with this. I want it soooooo badly, but I’m trying to save some money, so I figured I could pass it on to one of you. I mean, this bangle is delicious with a capital D.

Under $50 Animal Jewelry penguin necklace

12. Vintage penguin necklace $38 – Taking another cue from Ms. Roitfeld. Penguins are sassy and classy (at least I think so…they ARE wearing tuxedos), and so is this necklace. As a bonus, it’s also freaking adorable.

Under $50 Animal Jewelry crow necklace

13. Raven skull pendant $27 – Umm, does it get any darker than a raven skull? I think not: Bellatrix Lestrange wears one. Oh, and just a little price comparison.

So what do you think? Are you lusting after some animal jewelry? Already have a favorite piece of your own? Interested in The Girl With The Red Riding Hood? I’d love to hear from you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 8:54 am

    I love that vintage penguin necklace! Great buys!!

  2. July 22, 2010 9:24 am

    Love these picks! The rhinestone tiger bangle is to die for!

  3. July 22, 2010 10:30 am

    Some of these are awesome! I love the penguin, and I’m actually wearing a silver snake ring right now, though it’s simpler than the ones you choose. Though if I wanted more jewelry, I’d probably get a cheaper piece at Claire’s or something, but I tend not to spend as much on trendier items.

Leave A Reply

