Skip to content

Window Shopping: Kmart

July 25, 2010

For my second installment of window shopping, I decided to stop by a most unlikely store (Kmart makes me think of tracksuits for old ladies–I’m talking Betty White in Hot in Cleveland) to see if I could find some awesome stuff to share with you. I was surprised at all the goodies I found:

First up, I found these adorable leopard print flats. For $3.49!!! These shoes would be the perfect way to get a head start on fall’s animal-print accessories trend. I love the pom-pom accent on top as well.

Kmart leopard print flats

Also in the shoe section, I spotted these buckled mary-janes. They are a great shade of grey and have a mid-height heel that would be perfect for work or an internship (they would also look awesome with a Mad Men inspired outfit….but maybe I’m just saying that because I’m psyched about the season premiere tonight).

kmart buckle maryjanesbuy them online here

I also happened upon the perfect fedora. I actually found these in the men’s section, but they had a variety of sizes, and the smallest one fit me. They had bands around the brim in either navy or brown. If you’re going on an end-of-summer vacay, this would be the perfect jet-setting accessory.

kmart fedorasbuy one online here

Okay, so this next thing I am SUPER excited about. Right before I was about to leave Kmart, I saw these sitting on a sale rack. I am just going to show it to you and spare you the boring explanation (please excuse the blurry pics…my phone doesn’t do it justice):

kmart military watch

So the reason I am so excited about this watch (which is also from the men’s department) is because a) it is only $7.99 and b) it is most definitely the cheaper brother of this sucker—which I am obsessed with: It has the same army-green band, the red details, and large face. Although I’m 100% certain that this one won’t last half as long (but it does the trick for a broke college student).

Another $7.99 watch that I loved was this grandpa-style gold one. The band is thin and it has a really large face (especially since it’s a men’s watch in the first place). It kind of reminds me of this watch from Urban Outfitters (once again ignore the blurry picture).

kmart grandpa watch

Although showing pictures of tights isn’t the most exciting thing, I never pass on a great basic (especially if it’s cheap). Kmart had a great selection of thick opaque tights that would be perfect for fall (I’m planning on layering under shorts) for $9.99. I really liked the texture of these grey ones:

kmart opaque tights

I’m a huge fan of scarves; I mean, I’m no Hillary Duff, but I have a small collection. I really liked this punchy floral one. The tiny floral is charming, it is lightweight enough for summer, and would transition well into fall for a big pop of color.

Kmart floral scarf

Kmart floral scarf close-up

Since fall quarter is just around the corner, and I’m planning my dorm room decor, I decided to stop by the home decor section. I fell in love with this patterned comforter. The neutral colors help it to avoid a typical dorm room look. I think it would look luxurious (and definitely more expensive than its $15 price tag) with fluffy white sheets, a textured throw, and a mish-mash of neutral pillows.

kmart comforter

kmart comforter backbuy it online here

So, what do you guys think? Have you made any great finds at Kmart,,,,or any other discount-y stores? And how do you feel about cheap purchases like the military watch? Would you rather buy a cheap version of an item you love, or save up for the real thing? Let’s talk about bargain shopping!

Oh, also….Selena Gomez has a small collection for Kmart. It wasn’t available in my local Kmart, but you can check it out online here. Let me know your thoughts.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 12:42 pm

    Can I just say how much I love this series? I’m a big fan of bargain hunting, and at some stores (more like Ross, TJ Maxx, and Marshalls than K-Mart and Target) you can find really quality stuff for cheap. But I’ll usually opt for bargains rather than investing, I guess. Then again, I can’t think of anything I own that is usually an “investment piece”.

    Anyway, I love the scarf and the fedora you found, though I’m not a fan of the mary jane’s. I also liked a few of the pieces from Selena Gomez’s line. I’m a huge fan of hers, and I like some of the bags, jeggings, and dresses. I don’t know what’s up with the pictures K-Mart posted. It doesn’t make the clothing look at nice, at all.

    Good post!

  2. July 26, 2010 4:46 pm

    I’m glad you like it! I have a few more in the works, so they won’t be going away anytime soon. I’m definitely a bargain person as well. I’d rather get 100 cheap things that I love than 1 expensive thing that I love.

    I hear about Ross a lot, but we don’t have any in Ohio. I’m a big Marshalls fan, though.

    xo

  3. July 30, 2010 10:20 am

    Omg those leopard print shoes are so adorable! Also, cute post! I love the idea of window shopping!

Trackbacks

  1. 3 Shopping Mistakes Everyone Makes « At Auds
  2. Window Shopping: Kmart Round Two « At Aud's

Leave A Reply

