Skip to content

3 Get Up And Go Hairstyles

September 16, 2010

I’m not a big fan of hair washing. I wash my hair 2-3 times a week tops. When I’m running late for class, I have 3 go-to hairstyles that are quick, easy, and hide dirty hair in a pinch.

I know I usually don’t do beauty/hair posts, but I feel like this is perfect for back-to-school because I’m usually in a rush or too sleepy to straighten, curl, or otherwise style my hair and I often resort to these styles: it looks like I “did my hair” but I didn’t actually do anything. Check them out:

1. The Side Braid

mk sidebraid

kbosworth side braid

awang sidebraid spring 2010

I like this look because it works on virtually any hairstyle (curly, wavy, straight…even shorter hair like K Bosworth’s girly look). I like my braid messy and loose. To get the look I spray my hair with a little water and rub in a bit of Aveda’s be curly curl enhancer (one of my all-time favorite beauty products) for a little texture. I brush all my hair over to one side and start a loose braid about an inch below my ear. I finish it off with a small, clear elastic.

If you have bangs and/or shorter layers, you can leave them hanging on both sides like MK in Picture 1, or bobby pin them back for a cleaner look. I especially like the look of a fishtail braid like MK’s.

2. The Top Knot

This is by far the easiest of the three looks. It takes literally three seconds and looks all laid-back-french-girl-cool. I use this step by step guide to get the look.

vhudgens top knot

shanae grimes top knot

3. The Head Scarf

I originally tried this because of the look worn below on Serena van der Woodsen/ Blake Lively. To get the exact look Serena wears, you can use a headband or scarf of any kind, but I’ve found that a long silk scarf works best. I tie my hair half-up (by sectioning of the crown area) with an elastic, wrap the scarf headband-style, tie it in a simple knot under the elastic, and ta-dah—finished look.

Obviously for more oomph, you can tease your hair with a little hairspray and a comb around the crown.

serena van der woodsen hair scarf

serena-hair headscarfPhoto Credits

So there you have it: my not-so-instructional attempt at a beauty post. If nothing else, hopefully the pictures inspired you to try something new. What are your go-to hairstyles? Are you a once-a-day washer or do skip days?  I’d love to hear from you!

Leave A Reply

