Skip to content

Oscars 2011

February 28, 2011

I’ll make this short and sweet (…unlike many of the acceptance speeches last night —I’m talking about you, Melissa Leo). The gowns at the top of my list:

1. Mila Kunis in Elie Saab

mila kunis oscars 2011

My jaw literally hit the floor when I saw this gown. The color is gorgeous, and that sheer/lacy detailing is so feminine….it also doesn’t hurt that her body is absolutely amazing.

2. Cate Blanchett in Givenchy

cate blanchett oscars 2011

Cate never disappoints. This structured gown makes me squeal with delight. Even though this dress is extremely unique and high-fashion, she maintains the regal, classic look she is known for.

3. Scarlett Johansson in Dolce & Gabbana

SCARLETT-JOHANSSON-OSCARS-2011

This raspberry color is so flattering on her porcelain skin, and her hair and makeup were to die for. I liked that she did a loose, messy hairstyle, considering she usually goes for something retro or “done”.

There were also a couple dresses that I wasn’t so fond of:

1. Melissa Leo in Marc Bouwer

melissa leo oscars 2011

This is just too much. Lace and gold from head to toe is a little excessive, and the shape and silhouette ages her. Melissa also gets my pick for most awkward acceptance speech of the night (but maybe I’m just bitter, being a diehard Amy Adams fan).

2. Nicole Kidman in Dior

nicole-kidman-oscars-2011

As much as I wanted to love what Nicole wore, I really wasn’t feeling this gown. The shape and embellishments seemed dated to me.

Who wore your favorite gowns on the red carpet last night? What about Anne Hathaway (and her many wardrobe changes)? Did you love her as a co-host? I would ask about James Franco, but he wasn’t really there….if you know what I mean.

No comments yet

Leave A Reply

