Skip to content

Prom

April 6, 2011

Obviously I am too old for prom….but if I could do it all over again I would wear one of these (and yes, I would refer to my ensemble using corny words like “delight” and “magic”….don’t judge):

Desert Delight

1. Anything Halston would be at the top of my prom dream-dress list. This pleated Halston Heritage cocktail dress is fun, young, and swingy, but much different than the typical bedazzled floor-length prom gown.

2. I would ditch the heavy makeup and do a dewy, fresh face with a smoky brown eye

3. Gold and black earrings give the look edge (especially with their southwest-inspired shape)

4. Classic gold sandals by a classically-chic girl (Ivanka Trump)

5. A patterned clutch is a trendy addition that lends personality to the ensemble

Prom Mermaid Magic

1. This column gown from Rachel Pally flatters curves and has more of a traditional “prom” feel

2. I love the look of a statement necklace with a strapless dress, and this asymmetrical one will help you to stand out in a crowd full of tacky jewels. Oh, and it’s cheap: dirt cheap.

3. I saw this stone clutch in a magazine and had to include it. I think any of the three colors would work with this outfit, but I personally like the softer, more feminine jade color pictured.

4. Low, embellished heels perfect for dancing.

5. I would opt for a metallic blue-grey smokey eye (like Chanel’s fall 2011 RTW look pictured above). You don’t have to buy expensive Chanel products to get the look: go for L’Oreal HiP cream shadow in Steely, and pigment in Intrepid. Add coral lips and cheeks and you’ve got a look.

Are you going to prom? I’d love to hear what you’re wearing (or wore in the past). Curious as to what I actually wore? Goofy picture alert:

I realize you can’t see much of the dress, besides the pattern, but all of the full length photos have other people in them (who haven’t given me permission to put their mug out there for the world to see)…but it’s fun to take a trip down memory lane. The dress was belted at the waist, strapless, and cocktail length (mid-thigh). It was from Express, of all places.

I actually liked prom, did you enjoy yours?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 11:13 pm

    I love your dream prom outfits (especially the first one– it’s a fun yet still really formal take on prom)! I’m glad none of them involve the traditional “cake” dresses (the ones with the huuuuge voluminous skirts), haha. Though to each her own!

    And your prom picture looks great! You and the dress look so cute. It’s even better that it’s goofy, taking those endless pre-prom photos were more fun that way. :) I actually enjoyed my two proms, but I’d only go back and re-do them for the sake of fashion. I mean, I look back, and I can’t believe how much my style has changed! I’d like to think for the better, haha!

  2. April 6, 2011 11:46 pm

    word to the cake dresses. even back then, they were on my “don’t” list.

    isn’t it so cool how personal style evolves? I wish more pre-teens/teens would do personal style blogs so I could watch as their style changes throughout their lifetime. Maybe that’s just ’cause I’m nosy though? Like Tavi….I hope she keeps doing personal style posts because I’d really like to see how her style changes as she matures.

    i mean, personal style changes throughout your whole life, but I just feel like there is usually a dramatic change when you leave high school b/c a lot of ppl feel alleviated of peer pressure and the like.

    • April 12, 2011 12:49 am

      I think for my personal case, that’s what Facebook is for! Have you ever looked through your old profile pictures from way back when (I had mine since sophomore year of high school, yeek!) to see how different you look/feel now? I know this narcissist totally did.

      I TOTALLY agree what you said about personal style changing from high school: I couldn’t even fathom “dressing up” and personal fashion in general until my second year of college. It’s funny really; I was never really a “fashionista” until relatively recently in my life but now I’m known as “that person” amongst my friends.

      Oh funny, how time changes (to use a true cliche). :D

Leave A Reply

